LA the left-handed way

Sooo I took a road trip across the country with my brother and a giant bag of burnt sugar cookies (much thanks roxanne!)And I magically arrived in LA in one piece and now I look like this:

Well, not exactly like that. Actually not like that at all. I don’t eat cherries in that manner. Whatever.

Anyway, I met some interesting people, ate some interesting food, and had some interesting experiences. I gained 3 hours AND some stories for the grandkids. Super! AND I went to a bug museum!

Now I’m finally in the city of angels and eating avocados like it’s my job. Unfortunately, as much as I’d love compensation for avocado consumption (tongue twister!) I can’t seem to make that work. So, I’ve been spending money likes it’s my job and eating some very wonderful hangover food in my spare time from getting schooled in social media at my internship. There’s just one thing I don’t get about LA….here goes. Why is everyone floored when discovering I’m left handed?  Yesterday the number of overreactions to my left handedness rose to 6, 6 people! To clarify, these aren’t just “oh you’re left handed, I’ll move on with my life immediately” reactions. My favorite the other day was, “Oh my God, are you left handed? I haven’t seen one of you in years!”- Thanks for making me feel like an alien,  right handed superior stranger?

Apparently LA has a serious lack of lefties, so this must be fate. A void I need to fill, oh joy. Sooo, I went to good old Wikipedia and did a bit of research. Apparently only 7-10 percent of the adult population is left-handed and one of the causes is theorized by this dude to be because of high exposure to testosterone before birth. I don’t want to fill this void anymore. Maybe I’ll just go on suffering with righty scissors and make due in the right hand world, but not until after August 13th so I can celebrate Left Handed Day with some of my left-handed friends: Marilyn Monroe, Judy Garland, Sarah Jessica Parker, and Julia Roberts,  (high levels of testosterone? hmm..questionable.) Faith restored, leftie fo life!

Now that I’m all filled up on my daily fill of useless knowledge, I am completely burnt out. Thus, stories from LA will come at a later date. For now, I’ve been a tourist and saw the Hollywood sign. Be proud.

4 thoughts on “LA the left-handed way

  1. First of all those cookies were not burnt, and you didn’t have to take them if you didn’t like them…hehe…Second of all, love the Hollywood sign, and I can’t wait to see it when I visit. Third, I didn’t realize that there were so few lefties. Usually they write really messy, but for some reason you write really neat. Lastly, I’m super pumped for more LA stories!

  2. Oh look….how contempo of me..I’m writing on a blog. The guide did not have a thick lisp, he had a lateral lisp, and yes he was rather cocky at times. Did you mention that for a few days the HOLLYWOOD sign was covered up and said SAVE THE HILLS. We actually got a picture of it half covered/half exposed. Did you mention the great rooftop views in LA. I experienced 3 of them..not so bad for a lady who is terribly afraid of not necessarily heights, but of falling off the edge of high buildings. Missing the whole LA experience and especially your little face….I’ll be back!

  3. Remember that our ENTIRE Interactive Class is Left-Handed… except for me. That means I have class with 4 people that represent 7% of the Left-handed population. I am blessed!

Leave a Reply

