Smile Once in a Great While!

Let us live so that when we come to die even the undertaker will be sorry- Mark Twain

I really can’t help but laugh at this point in the semester when midterms, projects, presentations, and all that jazz start to creep upon us and hold us hostage. It seems my life revolves around group projects, so I get the pleasure of hearing numerous flip outs and breakdowns each day! Not that I don’t take these things seriously, but I have found a means of combating this stress head on (like the commercial: apply directly to the head!) I bestow unto you a solution to all you sulkers out there who are in desperate need of a pick me up. Take a half hour out of your life to create a Happy Book, trust me on this one. I can’t actually claim this as my own idea, it was actually my 10th grade English teacher that introduced this most pleasant activity into my world. Here’s the rules, I’ll make it real simple- the way life should be.

  • Take a piece of paper and cut it up and fold it to look like a tiny book
  • Decorate the front cover with whatever you fancy: Happy Book is what makes me happiest, but whatever floats your boat (I speak in clichés a lot, I hope that’s ok)
  • Proceed to fill in the pages with lists of things that make you happy, the giant smile kind of happy. Ohh and use colored pencil, markers, crayons, watercolors, sparkles, gel pens, hair dye, cranberry juice, colonial wax to decorate- whatever you want.
  • Try to fill the whole book in one sitting
  • You can do it, put your back into it (not really applicable here, but whatever)
  • Don’t worry, be happy
  • You get the point

Here’s what my beautiful gems of happiness look like, can’t you tell the strong artistic background I have?Lazy Sunday

Once you have filled out your new Happy Book, you will feel refreshed and your mouth may hurt from smiling too much. Now, you will have in your possession a reminder in tiny decorated book form of all things that make you happiest. Every couple of months I like to set aside some time to fill in more things and create new books. I’m on my fourth edition- yes, I have a love affair with happy books. Half of the fun is going back and reading what made our past selves so happy. I’m still baffled why paddle ball made my 16 yr old self so cheerful, of all things? So, get crackin on those happy books and break them out on those awful days when you really NEED to be reminded that your world isn’t going to end. After all, there’s always paddle ball, right? So, even if you want to punch me in the face for being overly optimistic, I think it’s still in your best interest to make a Happy Book. Don’t be a grump.

One thought on “Smile Once in a Great While!

  1. I hope you added “getting pumpkin spice lattes at the beginning of fall and listening to Simon and Garfunkel in the cave.” A little S&G can always cheer me up! Oh, and baking fall treats while listening to S&G and drinking coffee! Notice a theme here? Love the blog posts.. Go forth and conquer!

Leave a Reply

